Yesterday was our first day here.  I miss our lab.  Our first assignment pretty much took ALL day.  Wow.  Today we made our initials in a park with our GPS devices.  We have downloaded them and it's quite a process.  It's interesting that the whole room is using PC's and we are on our macs.  It's weird.  Don't they know how cool mac's are?  Have they ever been to the Apple Store?  :) 

Well, I am officially a geocaching fool!  Really cool.  It's really something I think I will introduce to my students as well as my own kids at home.   

2nd Day - So it's official.  We ARE nerds.  We got way into the geocaching after class.  It was HOT and there we were running around looking for the treasures.  We saw some things we would have never seen had we not done it.  Locks of Love was one.  It was a great little place.  We were on a roll, and then the last two were unsuccessful.  Frustrating.  

Earlier in the day, we met at a park and made tracks.  Did our initials.  Wet and swampy but uploading them was pretty cool.  Students would love to see their initials on the map that they made.  I think that police should use it to determine if someone is under the influence!  See how they are are at making a straight line!  

Worked on our projects today.  I really have liked doing mine, and think it will work well for my 2nd graders.  Lots of new ideas in my head about different kinds of maps and uses.  It's exciting and overwhelming at the same time.  Lots of information!

3rd Day - Went to the park and used GPS to set waypoints to mark our trees.  Amy was my partner.  We got the short end of the stick and had to do the perimeter of a parking lot.  Definitely 15 degrees hotter than the lucky ones in the lovely grass area. Lots of ants too.  Ew.  Setting waypoints is easy.  Came back and downloaded our data from our GPS.  Worked on a spreadsheet to input everything.  

Good working day today.  We sure put personality into the class in St. George!  I think for the most part it went well.  Instructors were helpful and the rest of the participants were nice!

Highlights:   Geocaching!  Swig= sugar cookies and dirty Diet Cokes.  Hanging out with my 3 friends, and enjoying ourselves without responsibilities of taking care of children after we got home!  






Leave a Reply.