I am just heart sick and speechless after watching those 2 videos.  I don't know how anyone can truly PREVENT them, but we can educate our children more about online behavior.  It is so easy for people (predators) to act, say, and pretend to be somebody they are not.  My husband and I tell this to our children, even when they are on sites like "Club Penguin"  where it should be kids just having fun.  You never know.  

I did some additional research on Megan and was dumbfounded to see that a bill was introduced to Congress for it, and that it died and was not enacted.  I keep thinking about Megan's parents and how her mom had a "gut feeling" that something wasn't right.  My first thought was that she could have restricted any further communication with Josh, but that may have resulted in the same ending.  As for Amanda, her video was on YouTube.  I have some questions about it.  Was it her channel?  Did friends and family see it and intervene?  I feel if that were the case, she could have been saved knowing that someone was on her side and cared about her.

Steps we can take...KNOW and MONITOR what our kids are doing online.  Facebook, Instagram, etc...Go through friends lists and dump all of the contacts your child doesn't know.  Make sure your children and students know that you are there for them and can report anything that makes them feel uncomfortable as well as report anything that a friend might be doing that is inappropriate.  
  • What do you feel should have or could have been done to prevent these horrible tragedies?
  • What steps should be taken by parents?  by teachers?



Leave a Reply.